What’s in a dream?

Have you ever wondered what your dreams tell you? Have you deciphered your own dreams before, like how Freud conducted dream analyses on human dreams?

I had the most extraordinary dreams for 3 consecutive days. It was as though they were real and they were sending me some messages which I ought to know.  I couldn’t make up the first 2 dreams but hubs managed to help me decipher them. What he said made total sense. In the first night, I dreamed of being trapped in a cave and I was trying hard to send out text messages calling for help. Somehow, I was so distracted in the midst that I couldn’t send even type out the message in full. I remembered erasing the text over and over and it was extremely difficult for me to compose that message, let alone send it out. Then on the second night, I dreamed that I was in the maternity ward with other women who were going on labor. I remembered being the most calm patient without any labor pain while two women in front of me were screaming their lungs out. Then I saw another woman who just gave birth next to me and she was cradling her newborn in her arms. It was the most beautiful sight. Then I looked at my tummy and it wasn’t big – like how a pregnant woman should look like in her 9th month of pregnancy. I asked the nurse and she said it was not time for me to give birth yet. My hub told me that this dream reflects my innermost desire to become pregnant … and so it does!

Then on the third night (which was just last night … could be this morning), I dreamed that I was at the language center and I’ve baked lasagna for my colleagues (which is true because I did bake lasagna last night for dinner and there were leftovers and I’ve decided to bring some for my colleagues). Then I realized that the pasta noodles were too hard and I had to take it back and bake it again. I took a bus home but the bus seemed to be going nowhere. So I alighted at one of the bus stations and someone told me that there wouldn’t be any bus coming this way soon. I panicked as I had a class to teach and I should not be late. I remembered looking at my watch in that dream. It was around 40 minutes past 9 am and I had a class at 10:30 am. And there seemed to be no bus in sight. Then I remembered climbing up a hill which looked like a bus and I sat down on a tree root that protruded above the ground. And then I woke up.

I kinda guessed that this dream tells me that I should not look back in my “ugly” past (represented by the uncooked pasta noodles) and that I ought to strive forward for a better future (going up the hill). Today’s message from God affirmed my hypothesis:

1 Corinthians 5:7 – Get rid of the old yeast, so that you may be a new unleavened batch – as you really are. For Christ, our Passover lamb, has been crucified.

And the response to the message above reads:

Psalm 31:1-5,7-8

In You, O Lord, I put my trust;
Let me never be ashamed;
Deliver me in Your righteousness.
Bow down Your ear to me,
Deliver me speedily;
Be my rock of refuge,
A fortress of defense to save me.

For You are my rock and my fortress;
Therefore, for Your name’s sake,
Lead me and guide me.
Pull me out of the net which they have secretly laid for me,
For You are my strength.
Into Your hand I commit my spirit;
You have redeemed me, O Lord God of truth.

I will be glad and rejoice in Your mercy,
For You have considered my trouble;
You have known my soul in adversities,
And have not shut me up into the hand of the enemy;
You have set my feet in a wide place.

 

And finally, the finishing touch to today’s message from God which tells me that I ought not to look back at how I’ve striven to get pregnant – going through treatments and all that – but to look up above for the ultimate and divine solution. For God is the Creator and Maker of life, there is certainly no other:

Proverbs 21:2 – A person may think their own ways are right, but the LORD weighs the heart.

Amen and Amen I said ….

Leave a Reply

